Columbia Theological Seminary

Located in Decatur, Georgia, Columbia Theological Seminary was founded in 1828. As of July 2015, Columbia’s new president is Dr. Leanne Van Dyk. Columbia joined the SSA in 2012, as a founding partner school.

Mission Statement: Columbia Theological Seminary is an educational institution of the Presbyterian Church (USA), and a community of theological inquiry and formation for ministry in the service of the Church of Jesus Christ.


SSA Liaisons:

Ann Clay Adams serves as associate dean for academic administration at Columbia Theological Seminary.  She is an ordained Presbyterian Church (USA) minister, and served as campus minister at two state universities, associate pastor (Lexington, KY), and as director of admissions at Columbia.

Dr. Stan Saunders is Associate Professor of New Testament at Columbia Theological Seminary. His research interests include “eschatology” in early Christian understandings of “the last days,” the nature of the Church, spirituality, and ecclesial self-definition, with a special interest in the Gospel according to Matthew.

Dr. Bill Brown is a Professor of Old Testament at Columbia Theological Seminary. Dr. Brown has abiding interests in the use of scripture in the life of the church and contemporary theological discourse, as well as in the ancient cultural contexts out of which scripture emerged. Specific interests include Psalms, wisdom literature, Pentateuch, Isaiah, history of ancient Israel, and modern literary theory. He received his PhD from Emory University and his MDiv from Princeton Theological Seminary.


Creation Care Links

Columbia Finishes Full Semester of Spring 2015 Events

Columbia Celebrates Earth Week

Columbia Links The Classroom and the Table

Columbia Professors Win Environmental Stewardship Award